Thank you

Thank you to everyone who attended the 2022 William S. Dixon, First Amendment Freedom Award luncheon on Thursday, Oct. 6, 2022.

Speaker Melissa Segura entertained, educated, and provided new insights in her keynote remarks. She shared details from her investigation of former Chicago police detective Reynaldo Guevara – who was accused of framing dozens of people who were sent to prison – which has led to the exoneration and release of more than 30 people. Many of them spent decades in prison for crimes they didn’t commit, with one of them serving 32 years behind bars before being released earlier this year.

The annual Dixon event honors those New Mexicans who believe in government transparency at the state or local level – and who have made significant contributions to casting sunshine (transparency) on government operations in the state.  The 2022 recipients include Byron Marshall, citizen; Kathleen Hager, education; Rep. Marian Matthews and Greg Trapp, government; Thomas Grover, law; and Vincent Rodriguez, media.. Only Grover was unable to attend and accept his award.

The even was supported by NMFOG sponsors who are listed below. Thank you to everyone who helped make the event a success.

Our Sponsors