Dixon Winners

The William S. Dixon First Amendment Freedom Award award honors FOG co-founder Bill Dixon, who died in 2003 after a year-long battle with cancer. A brilliant attorney, Dixon was a leading defender of free-speech and public-access rights who was well known for his keen intellect, ringing laughter, lucid writing, integrity and idealism. His passion for law in the public interest inspired many young law students to take up the banner of press freedoms and open government. His important legacy lives on through them, and through the men and women who receive the Dixon Award.
Blair DunnLaw2017
Sandra FishJournalism2017
Animal Village NMBusiness2017
Sunny ArisCitizen Advocate2017
Sondra EverhartCitizen Advocate2017
Steve TerrellJournalism2016
Norm GuameCitizen Advocate2016
Dr. Annetee Marie RodiguezEducation2016
Terri ColeBusiness2016
Kent WalzLifetime Achievement2015
Peter St. CyrJournalism2015
Chad PainterEducation2015
Mark LeechGovernment2015
Charles "Kip" PurcellLaw2014
Colleen HeildJournalism2014
Rep. Jeff SteinbornGovernment2014
Rob DeanLifetime Ahievement2013
Patrick GabrielLaw2013
Jeremy TheoretLaw2013
Heath HaussamenJournalism2013
Justin HorwathJournalism2013
Joey PetersJournalism2013
William TurnerCitizen Advocate2013
Jim DinesLifetime Achievement2012
Dolph BarnhouseLaw2012
Mayor Richard J. BerryGovernment2012
Charles WollmanGovernment2012
Jeff ProctorJournalism2012
Matthew HoytLaw2011
League of Women Voters (Santa Fe)Organization2011
Bryant FurlowEducation2011
Scott BlackwellEducation2011
Sen. Sander RueGovernment2011
Hal SimmonsLaw2010
Robert B. TrappJournalism2010
Winston BrooksEducation2010
Janice Arnold JonesGovernment2010
Norm BeckerBusiness2010
Greg WilliamsLaw2008
Sammy LopezJournalism2008
Bob WhiteGovernment2008
Martin EsquivelLaw2006
Sam SpencerBusiness2006
Pat GraffEducation2006
Rockford M. HayesJournalsm2006
Sen. Dede FeldmanGovernment2006
Daniel YohalemLaw2005
Kathi BeardenJournalism2005
Rep. Joseph CervantesGovernment2005
Pat RogersLaw2004
Jamie KochBusiness2004
J. Sean McCleneghanEducation2004
Max CollGovernment2004
Charle PeiferLaw2003
Robert E. TrappJournalism2003
Michael StanfordCitizen Advocate2003
Ted HobbsGovernment2003
Jim DinesLaw2002
Jeff SterbaBusiness2002
Daniel H. LopezEducation2002
Mayor Martin ChavezGovernment2002
Bill GoodmanLaw2017