Learn how one man uncovers government secrets

As a senior investigative reporter on the Bloomberg News investigations team, Leopold’s document-based reporting has led to countless scoops, federal investigations and contributed to the public’s understanding of how its government works.

Jason Leopold

Leopold is a recipient of the 2022 George Polk award for health reporting. He has twice been a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in international reporting. He was honored as a finalist in 2021 as one of the lead reporters on the massive reporting project known as the FinCEN Files, an investigation by BuzzFeed News, the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists and 108 media partners around the world based on U.S. government documents Leopold obtained, that revealed how banks knowingly profit from corruption and how authorities around the world allow the dark economy to flourish.

He was also honored as a Pulitzer finalist in 2018 as part of the team that investigated a series of suspicious deaths in the United Kingdon and the U.S. that linked back to the Kremlin.

In 2015, Leopold was nominated for a News & Documentary Emmy award for producing The Architect for VICE News, the first ever interview with retired Air Force psychologist James Mitchell, the man credited with developing the CIA’s torture program whose story Leopold had pursued for a decade. He was a senior investigative reporter at BuzzFeed News and senior investigative reporter for VICE News.

Tickets are now on sale for the 2023 William S. Dixon, First Amendment Freedom Award event on Tuesday, Oct. 17, 2023 beginning at 11:30 a.m. at the Sandia Golf Club 30 Rainbow Road. Tickets are $60 per person at  eventbrite For more information, call 505-764-3750. 

The annual Dixon event honors those New Mexicans who believe in government transparency at the state or local level – and who have made significant contributions to casting sunshine (transparency) on government operations in the state.  Two individuals will be singled out as Lifetime Achievement Recipients – They are Billie Blair and Susan Boe, both of Santa Fe. The 2023 recipients include: Maralyn Beck, citizen; Sen. Nancy Rodriguez, government; Matthew Beck,  law; and D’Val Westphal, media.