NMFOG Celebrates Transparency

Current and past Dixon Award winners

Almost 300 New Mexicans came together to celebrate transparency on Oct. 3 as the New Mexico Foundation for Open Government held its 2018 William S. Dixon First Amendment Award luncheon at the Embassy Suites in Albuquerque.

KOB-TV 4’s Tessa Mentus was the emcee for the annual event which featured Kate Snow, NBC award-winning journalist and the recipients of the annual Dixon Award.  Snow told the crowd that she met her husband in Albuquerque while she was getting her start at KOAT-TV 7, and about her love of breakfast burritos.  But it was her stories about her day job and ever-increasing attacks on the media that galvanized the attendees.

“Reporting matters more than ever,” Snow said. “The only way to fight back fake news is to do a really good job and finding and telling the facts.”

The highlight of the annual celebration of the public’s right to know was the recognition of the 2018 Dixon Award winners. The Dixon Award is handed out every year to those who exhibit excellence in open government.

Accepting the awards were Jorja Armijo-Brasher; The Freedman Boyd Hollander Goldberg Urias & Ward PA law firm; New Mexico state Sen. James White; and Nancy Laflin, KOAT-TV 7 journalist.

Winners of the raffles of print and digital ad space and football tickets included Dede Feldman, Mike Melody and Steve Westman.

Additional photos are on the website in the event section.