NMFOG Welcomes New Board Members

Albuquerque, N.M. — The New Mexico Foundation for Open Government has elected three new members to its Board of Directors.

Mary Ann Armijo is the general manager of iHeart Media in Gallup where she manages four stations and a multi-million-dollar budget. She is Chair-elect of the New Mexico Broadcasters Association, the current president of the Gallup Kiwanis and active in the McKinley County Chamber of Commerce. Armijo is a past member of the Gallup City Council and has been active in Democratic Party politics. She attended Luna Vocational School in Las Vegas.

Lucas Peerman is the news director for the Las Cruces Sun-News.  He started at the paper as the editor of its magazine, Pulse, and has headed several departments including news team, digital operations and copy desk.  He was a copy editor at the Santa Fe New Mexican and worked at the Boston Globe’s sports copy desk ensuring West Coast ball games appeared in the late edition. Peerman graduated from New Mexico State University with a degree in Journalism.

Tim Maestas is the news director at KOB-TV 4.  Maestas returned to Albuquerque in May 2018 following work at a television station in Memphis, Tenn. Previously he worked at KRQE-TV and at KOIN-TV in Portland, Ore.  In addition to his journalism experience, Maestas is a graduate of the University of Memphis School of Law and expects to take the New Mexico Bar Exam in 2019.  He has a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Southern California’s Annenberg School of Communication.

Armijo, Peerman and Maestas were elected to three-year terms which will begin on Jan.1, 2019.  NMFOG also re-elected four current board members: Carl Baldwin, Jeri Clausing, Greg Williams and Kip Purcell. Board officers who will serve for 2019 include: Karen Moses, president; Susan Boe, vice president; Carl Baldwin, treasurer; Michael Melody, secretary, Charles “Kip” Purcell and Daniel Yohalem, at-large members.